Twitterati Lashes Out At Virat Kohli And Selectors Over Picking More RCB Players

Written By : Vamshi Krishna

India completed a 9-0 whitewash in Sri Lanka by winning the one-off T20I in Colombo on Wednesday. Team India outplayed Sri Lanka in all three departments of the game throughout the long tour and became the first ever team to whitewash Sri Lanka in Sri Lanka. The visitors extended their winning run to nine straight matches against the hapless hosts.

dhoni shot

However, team India is hosting the limited-overs series with Australia for 5 ODIs and 3 T20s starting from September 17, 2017. Thus, Indian squad has been announced.

Pacer Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Shami have been recalled while youngster Shardul Thakur has been dropped. Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja again missed out from the charts, and middle order men Yuvraj Singh and Suresh Raina were once again ignored for a limited overs series.


The official twitter account of BCCI posted the details of the squad: “TEAM: Kohli (C), Rohit, Shikhar, Rahul, Pandey, Jadhav, Rahane, MSD, Hardik, Axar, Kuldeep, Chahal, Bumrah, Bhuvi, Umesh, Shami #INDvAUS.”

But Twitterati found something fishy about the 15-member Indian squad.

People started mocking the Indian skipper for excluding veterans like Yuvraj Singh and Suresh Raina who are good in limited-overs cricket. While others pointed out the inclusion of KL Rahul, Yuzvendra Chahal. Kedar Jadhav as ‘RCB Quota’, as they are from RCB squad during the IPL.

RCB team

Earlier when MS Dhoni was the Indian skipper, fans had criticized him for backing under fire Raina, Jadeja, Ashwin, Murali Vijay and Mohit Sharma too. Thus, The fans are not happy with the axing of some of the most followed cricketers and at the same time irked at the inclusion of the new comers.

Twitter Slams Virat Kohli And The Selectors:

MSK Prasad, the chairman of Selectors was also criticized for dropping the match-winners, but he clarified all the rumors and allegations by saying that the players have been rested, keeping in mind of the rotational policy.

“The team for the three ODIs against Australia has been selected in line with the rotation policy of the Board and accordingly R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja have been rested. The team’s performance during the Sri Lanka tour was outstanding and players like Axar Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal, who performed very well are being given an extended run and this will, in turn, supplement our approach, to build a strong reserve strength, as we prepare for forthcoming tours,” Prasad said.

Must Read: “I Wanted To Pick Up The Stump And Stab Virat Kohli,” Says Australian Opener, Ed Cowan

Leave A Response